

Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Monday 23rd May 2005

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Christopher Townsley in the Chair

WARD

WARD

CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Andrew Carter Amanda Lesley Carter Frank Robinson

CHAPEL ALLERTON

Sharon Hamilton Mohammed Rafique Jane Dowson

CITY & HUNSLET

Patrick Davey Mohammed Iqbal

CROSSGATES & WHINMOOR

Suzi Armitage Pauleen Grahame Peter John Gruen

FARNLEY & WORTLEY

David Blackburn Ann Blackburn Claire Nash

GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Andrea Harrison Mark Russell Phillips Thomas Murray

GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Alan Leonard Taylor Javaid Akhtar Roger Harington

ADEL & WHARFEDALE

Barry John Anderson John Leslie Carter Clive Fox

ALWOODLEY

Ronald David Feldman Ruth Feldman Peter Mervyn Harrand

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD

Karen Renshaw Jack Dunn Lisa Mulherin

ARMLEY

Alison Natalie Kay Lowe

Janet Harper

BEESTON & HOLBECK

Angela Gabriel Adam Ogilvie David Congreve

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY

Angela Denise Atkinson Ted Hanley Neil Taggart

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL

Ralph Pryke Richard Brett David Hollingsworth

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Graham Latty Stuart Andrew John Bale

HAREWOOD

Ann Castle Rachael Procter Alec Shelbrooke

HEADINGLEY

David Morton Greg Mulholland Martin Hamilton

HORSFORTH

Brian Cleasby Andrew Barker

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Penny Ewens Kabeer Hussain Linda Valerie Rhodes-Clayton

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Graham Hyde Michael James Davey

KIPPAX & METHLEY

John Keith Parker James Lewis Keith Ivor Wakefield

KIRKSTALL

Elizabeth M Minkin John Anthony Illingworth Bernard Peter Atha

MIDDLETON PARK

Geoffrey Driver Judith Blake Stuart Bruce

MOORTOWN

Mark Daniel Harris Brenda Lancaster Richard Harker

MORLEY NORTH

Robert Finnigan Stewart McArdle Thomas Leadley

MORLEY SOUTH

Judith Elliott Terrence Grayshon Gareth Edward Beevers

OTLEY & YEADON

Grahame Peter Kirkland Colin Campbell Richard Downes

PUDSEY

Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis Mick Coulson

ROTHWELL

Donald Michael Wilson Steve Smith Mitchell Galdas

ROUNDHAY

Matthew Lobley Valerie Kendall Paul Wadsworth

TEMPLE NEWSAM

William Schofield Hyde David Schofield Michael Lyons

WEETWOOD

Brian David Timothy Jennings Susan Bentley Barry Stewart Golton

WETHERBY

Gerald Wilkinson Andrew Millard John Michael Procter

1 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor A Carter, seconded by Councillor Driver, supported by Councillors Jennings, Finnigan and D Blackburn and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor William Schofield Hyde be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2006.

Councillor W Hyde made the declaration of acceptance of office and took the Chair.

2 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Harris moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Townsley. This was seconded by Councillor Atha supported by Councillors J L Carter, Finnigan and D Blackburn and carried unanimously.

3 Deputy Lord Mayor

It was moved by the Lord Mayor seconded by Councillor M Hamilton and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY - That Councillor Ann Castle be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold office until the date of the Annual meeting of the Council in 2006.

4 Minutes of Council

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the Council meeting held on 13th April 2005 be approved as a correct record.

5 Election of Leader

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor J Procter and

RESOLVED – That Councillor M Harris be elected as Leader for the period 24th May 2005 to 30th November 2005 and Councillor A Carter for the period 1st December 2005 to 22nd May2006.

6 Constitutional Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That amendments to the Constitution as detailed in the report of the Chief Democratic Services Officer be approved.

7 Establishment of Committees and Terms of Reference

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That Committees be established having Terms of Reference as detailed in Schedule 8(a) to the agenda.

8 Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That alternative arrangements for appointments to seats on committees and outside bodies as detailed in schedules 8(b)(i) and (ii) and 8(c) to the agenda be approved in accordance with Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

9 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of executive functions detailed in Schedule 9(a) to the agenda be received.

10 Lead Members

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That Group Leaders be authorised to appoint Lead Members to support members of the Executive Board in the discharge of their responsibilities as detailed in Schedule 9(b) to the agenda.

11 Calendar of Meetings

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That the Calendar of Meetings as contained in Schedule 10 to the agenda be approved.

12 Members Allowances Scheme

It was moved by Councillor M Hamilton seconded by Councillor Gruen and

RESOLVED – That the recommendations of the Independent Remuneration Panel as detailed in the report of the Chief Democratic Services Officer be approved.

(Council rose at 7.20 pm)