

Originator: Ian Walton

Tel: 2474350

Report of the Assistant Chief Executive (Corporate Governance)

Council

Date: 2nd July 2008

Subject: Appointments

Electoral Wards Affected:	Specific Implications For:
	Equality and Diversity
	Community Cohesion
Ward Members consulted (referred to in report)	Narrowing the Gap

1.0 Appointments

- 1.1 At the Annual Meeting Party Whips were authorised to allocate vacant seats to members in accordance with the proportions set out on the schedules, subject to their subsequent report to Council.
- 1.2 Relevant Party Whips have allocated seats as follows:

Councillors Bentley, Chastney, Ewens, Hamilton, Latty and Wadsworth to the Scrutiny Board (Central and Corporate)

Councillors Cleasby, Lancaster and R D Feldman to the Scrutiny Board (Children's Services)

Councillors Barker, Matthews, Lobley, Procter and Wilkinson to the Scrutiny Board (City Development)

Councillors Cleasby, Hollingsworth, A Taylor, Marjoram and Castle to the Scrutiny Board (Environment and Neighbourhoods)

Councillors Ewens, Kirkland, Andrew, Mrs R Feldman and Fox to the Scrutiny Board (Adult Social Care)

Councillors Chapman, Kirkland, Monaghan, Rhodes-Clayton, Lamb and Bale to the Scrutiny Board (Health)

Councillors Campbell, Pryke, Shelbrooke, Kendall, and Fox to the Scrutiny Board (City and Regional Partnerships)

Councillors Taylor, Wilson, Wadsworth and Castle to the Plans Panel (East)

Councillors Chastney, Matthews, Andrew and Marjoram to the Plans Panel (West) Councillors Monaghan, Latty and Mrs R Feldman to the Plans Panel (City Centre)

Councillors Townsley, Wilson and Wilkinson to the Licensing and Regulatory Panel

Councillors Hollingsworth, Rhodes-Clayton, Townsley, R D Feldman, Wilkinson and Castle to the Licensing Committee

Councillors Cleasby, Harker, Anderson and Ogilvie to the Development Plan Panel

Councillors Bentley and Latty to the Member Management Committee

Councillors Campbell, Kirkland and Latty to the Corporate Governance and Audit Committee

Councillors Brett, Bentley and J Procter to the Constitutional Proposals Committee

Councillors Brett and A Carter to the West Yorkshire Joint Services Committee and Councillors Hamilton and R D Feldman as nominated substitutes to the same

Councillor Fox to the West Yorkshire Pension Fund Investment Panel

Councillors Cleasby and Fox to the West Yorkshire Pension Fund Advisory Group

Councillors Campbell, J L Carter and D Blackburn to the Standards Committee

Councillors Castle and Harrand to the West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Authority

Councillors A Carter and Wadsworth to the West Yorkshire Passenger Transport Authority

Councillor J L Carter as a nomination to serve on the West Yorkshire Police Authority

1.3 The Assistant Chief Executive (Corporate Governance) amended appointments made at the Annual Meeting in accordance with authority granted to her at that meeting and in consultation with appropriate Whips as follows:

Councillor Ogilvie to replace Councillor Dowson on the Scrutiny Board (City Development)

Councillor Dowson to replace Councillor Ogilvie on the Scrutiny Board (Central and Corporate)

Councillor Coupar to replace Councillor Langdale on the Scrutiny Board (Environment and Neighbourhoods)

Councillor J McKenna to replace Councillor Mulherin on the Scrutiny Board (Children's Services)

Councillor Mulherin to replace Councillor J McKenna on the Scrutiny Board (Environment & Neighbourhoods)

1.4 Councillor Bentley is now the Liberal Democrat Group Whip and it is therefore appropriate that Council appoint her as Chair of the Member Management Committee for the period 1st December 2008 to the date of the Annual Meeting in 2009 in place of Councillor Hamilton.

2.0 Recommendation

2.1 That the appointments detailed in paragraph 1.2 and 1.3 be noted and that the appointment in paragraph 1.4 be approved.