Parish council

Harewood Parish Council


The original area of the council was the village of Harewood and the outlying hamlets of Wike, Stanks and Wigton. However, from the 1960s onwards the suburbs of Leeds crept north and began to be built on the farmlands in the area of the old village parish. Farms called ‘High Ash’, ‘Slaid Hill’ and The Plantation’ can be seen in the maps of the 1850s and their names are still with us. Now the private estates of Wigton Moor comprise 80% of the population of the parish and the more accurate name now should perhaps be ‘Harewood and Wigton Moor’ parish council.


The Council meets every six weeks or so, alternating between Harewood and Wigton Moor. The agendas and minutes are displayed on each of the notice boards throughout the parish and the meetings are all held in public.  A chair and vice-chair are elected for one year at time from the members of the council and members are elected by local people in elections held every four years.  Seven of the nine members of the Parish Council represent Wigton Moor; the other two represent 'Harewood and Wike'.

Contact information

Kevin Sedman
Parish Clerk

36 High Ash Mount
LS17 8RW

Phone:  07587202613



Moderngov is not responsible for the content of any external link