Committee structure



Council meetings involve all ninety nine of the City’s elected members and are chaired by the Lord Mayor.


Somewhere in the region of six ordinary Council meetings are held each year, usually commencing at 1.00 p.m. on a Wednesday. Business conducted at an ordinary Council meeting includes:


  • The receipt of deputations*
  • Question time
  • The receipt of decisions and consideration of recommendations from the various Boards, Panels and Committees
  • Consideration of motions submitted by individual members
  • The approval of matters reserved to the Council in the Budget and Policy Framework including the budget and Council Plan


The Annual meeting of the Council, usually held on an evening in late May, elects the Lord Mayor for the municipal year and determines all committee and decision making arrangements for the new municipal year. 


Occasionally the Council holds special meetings to appoint honorary aldermen and alderwomen or honorary freemen of the City.


*It should be noted that anyone interested in bringing a deputation to a Council meeting should apply in writing with a copy of their proposed speech to at least 14 clear days prior to the meeting. 


Please note that the Council will try all means possible to enable all interested parties to be present at Full Council, Executive Board and Committee meetings where decisions take place.  However due to the limited seating capacity within the Civic Hall meeting rooms, the Council regrets that access for all may not always be possible.


Links to webcasts of Full Council meetings can be found via the specific webpage for each meeting.


Executive Board

Scrutiny Boards

Community Committees



Advisory and Procedural